joyful girl

we owe each other the world. the world owes us nothing.

Happy Birthday to Me! November 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — amyjoyfox @ 6:50 pm

Today I turn 35. I love birthdays, and I like that Facebook lets everyone know that it’s my birthday. (Secretly, I really like attention.) It’s turning out to be a good day with fun little surprises like a latte from a friend, a good playdate this morning, both kids napping at once and some fun birthday money to spend on whatever I want!

Mostly, though, I’m feeling really thankful for where my life is now. Truly, I feel like I have all of the important things I’ve ever hoped to have – a husband I love (and who works so very hard to care for our family), two children who I get to take care of all day long, the education and resources I need to continue my dream career when those children no longer need me to care for them at home all day long, a loving extended family and some very high quality friends who let me be who I am. I don’t say this to paint a picture of some perfect, everything-in-place life, but when I really take the time to assess it, my life is lovely in spite of its numerous aches and imperfections, and I have done nothing to deserve such loveliness. So today, I am grateful.

 

4 Responses to “Happy Birthday to Me!”

  1. Carrie Says:

    Happy birthday, Amy!! 🙂

    • amyjoyfox Says:

      Thank you, Carrie! BTW, I really love reading your blog – your pictures and notes are inspiring me to do a better job of documenting this season of life with my kids…

  2. priscilla Says:

    this post made me so happy. not just because we share a birthday, but because you put words to my feelings so perfectly. this is such an outrageously beautiful time in life, and i am loving it as you are. we are blessed.


Leave a Reply

